Click here to Skip to main content
Illinois Basketball Coaches Association
Illinois Basketball Coaches Association mobile

This season, the IBCA will honor multiple programs for reaching certain school victory milestones. This list includes some of the top teams in Illinois – but many more need to be added. We will honor any high school boys program that has reached the 1500 victory plateau. We will also honor any high school girls program that has surpassed the 1000 win level. College programs will also be honored for various milestones. Please, contact the IBCA for further information.

Congratulations to all teams for their great historical success!



Evanston Township Varsity Coach Mike Ellis accepts a 1500 school victory plaque from IBCA Recording Secretary Steve Allen preceding a Central Suburban League contest on Friday, December 14. Since the 1900-1901 season, the Wildkits have won 1532 games including the home contest played at unforgettable and historic Beardsley Gymnasium.

 The Wildkits have amassed an astounding 36 regional titles and earned 11 state tournament appearances - including the 1968 State Championship. ETHS has totaled 5 finals trophies including the most recent 2018 Class 4A 3rd place finish.

Former Coach Jack Burmaster, was voted as one of the 100 legends of the IHSA State Basketball Tournament, and also did color commentary for the IHSA State Tournaments. He was an inaugural selection as a coach into the IBCA Hall of Fame in 1973.

1966 grad, Everette Stephens, who played at Purdue and professionally for the Philadelphia 76ers and the Milwaukee Bucks was selected into the IBCA Hall of Fame in 2014.

Congratulations to all Wildkit players, coaches, and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!



Before the intra-city matchup between Peoria Manual and Peoria Richwoods, Thursday, November 29, the IBCA honored one of just three Illinois High School girls basketball programs that have surpassed the 1000 victory plateau. Peoria Richwoods High School has 1007 wins and counting. Since the 1973-74 season, the Lady Knights have won 25 regional titles and have made 7 state tournament appearances including a third place finish, two 2nd places, and 4 state championships – most recently in 2018.

Notable Coaches include: Mary Kay Hungate, John Gross, and current coach Todd Hursey. Great players are the norm for the Lady Knights: SIU-C Coach Cindy Stein, Nora Lewis, SIU-E Coach Paula Buscher, Camryn Taylor and Kourtney Crane, just to name a few.

Pictured above are IBCA Recording Secretary Steve Allen, Coach Todd Hursey, Richwood Principal Brett Elliott, and IBCA Board of Director Mark Kleemann. Congratulations to all Lady Knights players, coaches and fans!



On Friday, November 30, before a Big Twelve Conference game with Peoria Notre Dame, the IBCA honored Normal Community High School for surpassing the 1500 victory plateau. Since 1904, the Ironmen have amassed 1586 victories, captured 25 regional titles, and finished 4th  and 2nd  in the IHSA State Tournament.

Iconic coaches include future college coaches Tom Cooper of Parkland and Ron Rose of Illinois Wesleyan. A number of great players have played as Ironmen including: Harold Nord, Randy Smithson, Todd Kagel, Chad Huston, Anthony Beane, Alex Peacock, and Tyler Seibring.

Joining Coach Dave Witzig (center) on the court is Jeff Findley, Milan Jackson, and Bill Kemp of the McLean County History Museum - all of whom have helped research Ironmen basketball history. Congratulations to all NCHS players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement.



Preceding an important Little Illini Conference Showdown on Friday, November 30, IBCA Basketball Museum of Illinois Chairman, Bruce Firchau presented Coach Shawn Nugent, his staff, and the current Tiger boys team with a 1500 victory plaque. Paris High School currently has 1766 wins. Since 1909, the Tigers have won an exceptional 43 regional titles and earned 12 state tournament appearances, along with one 4th  place finish, one 3rd, two 2nd’s  and two state titles.

Hall of Fame Coaches that paced the court side for Paris include legendary coach Ernie Eveland and Gene Gourley.

Congratulations Coach Shawn Nugent and all players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement.  



Former IBCA President and Hall of Fame Coach, Ken Crawford presents current Carmi – White County head coach Kevin Wolff with an IBCA 1500 Victory School Plaque. A great number of former coaches and players were also present for the occasion on Tuesday, December 4th preceding a non-conference tilt with the Norris City – Omaha – Enfield Fighting Cardinals.

Carmi-White County High School has 1510 victories with win #1500 occurring on January 19, 2018. Since 1912, the Bulldogs have won an exceptional 23 regional titles, 4 sectional crowns and a trip to the state tournament in 1999 under the direction of Coach Brad Lee.

Former coaches include IBCA Hall of Famers John McDougal and David Lee.

Congratulations to all former coaches and players along with all Bulldog fans!



On Friday, December 7, a nearly packed Changnon Gym watched Mt. Vernon High school host the Carbondale Terriers for an important South Seven Conference contest. Preceding the game, former Ram player and current head coach Doug Creel, along with his team, was presented the IBCA School Victory plaque by Recording Secretary Steve Allen.

Currently listed as #5 all-time Illinois Boys HS with 1920 victories, the Rams have won an unprecedented 59 district or regional titles, earned 12 state tournament appearances, and captured 4 state championships.

Great players wearing the Orange & Black include Max Hooper, who scored 36 points in the 1950 state championship game and more recently, Kent Williams, who played at SIU-Carbondale and was inducted in the MVC Hall of Fame in 2018.

IBCA Hall of Fame coaches include Stan Changnon and Lee Emery. Current Coach Creel is the all-time winningest coach in Mt. Vernon history with 314 victories.

Congratulations to everyone involved with Mt. Vernon basketball over that past 112 seasons!



Preceding their boys basketball game, on Friday, December 21, with the Princeville Princes, Roanoke-Benson High School accepts an IBCA 1500 School Victory Plaque from IBCA Hall of Fame Chairman Mark Kleemann.  Pictured above at Dick Broers Gymnasium with Mark Kleemann are former varsity coaches: Dick Broers (with plaque), Roger Wiseman, Pat Durley, Derek Sieg, Super-fan Delbert Shirley, former coach Bill Zeman, and current coach Abe Zeller.

 Since 1900, the Rockets have 1668 wins and have captured 19 district or regional titles with a trip to the State Tournament in 1977.  

Other coaches who had a part in helping reach the 1668 wins in the history of Roanoke and Roanoke-Benson boys basketball include: Raymond D. Yeck, Charles Thompson, Lawrence Cravens, Brad Stuart, John Giesler, and Matt Gordon,

 At this time, the IBCA congratulates all the coaches, players, cheerleaders, and fans – past and present – on this great achievement.